Azad Kashmir District
  Bagh District

Bhimber District

  Kotli District
  Mirpur District
  Poonch District
  Sudhnuti District

Poonch Azad Kashmir District

Poonch district is totally hilly. Total area of the district is 855 square kilometers. The district is divided in three tehsils. Poonch district is bounded by Bagh district in the north, by Sudhnuti in the south, it shares borders with occupied Kashmir in the east and is bounded to Pakistan in the west. Total population of the district according to 1998-census stands at 412,000 while according to 1999 projections the population is 412,000.


From the end of the 17th century to 1837, Poonch was ruled by the Muslim Rajas of Loran. It then fell into the hands of Raja Faiz Talab Khan of Rahuri. In 1846 after the Treaty of Amritsar, it was handed over to Mahrajah Gulab Singh. He handed over Poonch and some other areas to his nephews, Jawahar Singh and Moti Singh with some legal stipulations. Poonch was annexed and converted into a Jagir by Mahrajah Hari Singh in 1935-36 by deposing the Raja of Poonch. The Dogras always found it difficult to rule in Poonch. In 1947, the people of Poonch started an armed struggle against the Dogra and Indian forces.

Rawalakot is the district headquarters and is situated in the heart of district Poonch. The altitude of this beautiful saucer-shaped valley is 1615m, and is situated 76 Km from Kohala. During summer, the place becomes full of green grass and beautiful flowers including many varieties of roses.

It is Located 12Km from Rawalakot. The tourist spot is famour for its calm and charming characteristics.

About 20Km from Rawalakot and at 1981m above sea-level is Banjosa. A very attractive site full of scenic beauty which also houses a small lake with boating facilities.

Area 855 square kilometers
Population 412,000

Return to Top


Copyright © 2000-Presen, Kashmir Valley, All rights reserved.